Overview

Standard and Enterprise Models for Organizations of All Sizes

We found that small businesses and large organizations often have the same general requirements for an archive. Small businesses with few mailboxes often have the same needs as large organizations. Legal regulations play a big role, because all companies have to implement them in an equal manner.

In order to satisfy the technical requirements of an archive in companies of different sizes, we offer EMA® in different models and configurations. There are two general types of appliance models: standard appliances, and enterprise appliances. Every EMA® can be fine-tuned to the needs of an individual customer, because not everyone requires all of the offered functionality. This allows us to tailor every appliance in terms of functionality, as well as in terms of budget.

The standard appliance models (EMA® S40 to EMA® S800) cover the typical requirements of small and medium-sized businesses. They are ideal for companies that require archiving for up to 100 mailboxes on the network. Standard models do not lack any of the important features that define EMA®. Digital signatures, encryption of archived data, and our easy to use full-text search are included. The web based administration interface and optional Four-Eye-Principle authentication as an additional layer of security and privacy round things off in every department.

Larger companies and organizations should look at the enterprise appliance models (EMA® E2000 to EMA® E8000). These appliances offer a perfectly fine-tuned solution that is capable of archiving and managing several thousands of mailboxes or users.

All EMA® models can be extended at any time, if you want to archive more than just e-mail messages. Activating additional modules, such as Print to Archive®, Scan to Archive®, File to Archive®, or Voice to Archive® can be done while the appliance is running, and without interruption. After a new feature is activated, all it takes is some initial configuration in order to archive the additional resources.

Feature Highlights

Encryption EMA® stores an encrypted copy of every e-mail message and document inside the archive.
Storage Independence E-mail messages and documents are archived in a legally compliant manner, no matter which storage system that is used. This means that the archive can even be stored on existing SAN or NAS storage systems, as well as on Netware, UNIX/NSF, or Windows network shares.
Digital Seal A digital seal (date/time) is added to every e-mail message and document. The seal is used to guarantee the authenticity integrity of a process stored in the archive (time stamp).
Decryption Only the appliance that was used to archive an e-mail message or document can decrypt and make it readable again. Malicious parties are barred from accessing and abusing archived information, which ensures peace of mind.
Print to Archive Print to Archive® allows users to store a copy of all or selected documents inside the archive while issuing an ordinary print job. Archived print jobs receive the same protection as other content.
Scan to Archive Scan to Archive® makes it possible to store the contents of conventional, paper-based inboxes inside the archive. The process is easy to perform and hassle-free.
4 Eye Principle Four-Eye-Principle authentication allows organizations configure EMA® so that it requires a second party to be present for sensitive operations. These can be freely configured.
Authentication EMA® supports all common authentication systems, such as LDAP (Lightweight Directory Access Protocol), OpenLDAP, Kerberos, Active Directory, RADIUS Servers. It also offers additional authentication settings to meet even the most sophisticated demands.

Überblick

Standard- und Enterprise-Modelle für jede Unternehmensgröße

Die grundsätzlichen Anforderungen an ein Archiv sind unabhängig von der Unternehmensgröße fast immer identisch. Ein kleines Unternehmen mit wenigen Arbeitsplätzen hat häufig die gleichen Bedürfnisse wie ein großes Unternehmen. Hierbei spielen unter anderem die gesetzlichen Regelungen eine entscheidende Rolle, die von allen Unternehmen gleichermaßen zu berücksichtigen sind.

Um die technischen Anforderungen an ein modernes Archiv in unterschiedlich großen Unternehmen zu gewährleisten, wird EMA® in verschiedenen Modellen angeboten. Generell lassen sich dabei Standard- und Enterprise-Appliances unterscheiden. Jede EMA® kann individuell an den konkreten Bedarf im Unternehmen angepasst werden, denn nicht jeder Kunde benötigt auch alle Funktionen. Dies erlaubt eine exakte Anpassung der Appliance sowohl im Rahmen der Funktionalität als auch im Budget.

Die Standard-Modelle (EMA®-S40 bis EMA®-S800) decken die typischen Anforderungen in kleineren und mittelständischen Unternehmen ab und eignen sich ideal für den Einsatz bei bis zu einigen hundert Mailboxen im Firmennetzwerk. Selbstverständlich müssen Sie nicht auf wichtige EMA®-Funktionen wie die digitale Signierung und Verschlüsselung aller Daten und die komfortable Volltext-Suche im Archiv verzichten. Die webbasierte Administrationsoberfläche oder das optionale 4-Augen-Prinzip als zusätzliches Sicherheits- und Datenschutzmerkmal runden die Leistungsfähigkeit in allen Belangen ab.

Größere Unternehmen und Konzerne erhalten mit der EMA® Enterprise-Serie (EMA®-E2000 bis EMA®-E8000) eine perfekt abgestimmte Appliance-Lösung, die leistungsmäßig für die einfache Archivierung und Verwaltung auch von mehreren tausend Mailboxen oder Arbeitsplätzen ausgelegt ist.

Alle EMA®-Modelle können jederzeit über die reine E-Mail-Archivierung hinaus erweitert werden. Die Aktivierung der zusätzlichen Module Print to Archive®, Scan to Archive®, File to Archive® und Voice to Archive® erfolgt im laufenden Betrieb ohne Unterbrechung. Nach der Aktivierung ist lediglich ein geringer Implementierungsaufwand notwendig, um zusätzliche Ressourcen zu archivieren.

Feature-Highlights

Verschlüsselung EMA® legt eine verschlüsselte Kopie von jeder E-Mail und von jedem Dokument im Live-Archiv ab.
Speicherunabhängigkeit EMA® archiviert E-Mails und Dokumente speicherunabhängig und rechtssicher auf nahezu allen Speichersystemen, d.h. die Archivierung kann auf jedem vorhandenen SAN oder NAS Storage-System erfolgen: Netware-, UNIX/NFS- oder Windows Ressourcen.
Digitales Siegel EMA® versieht die Kopie von jeder E-Mail und jedem Dokument mit einem digitalen Siegel (Zeit/Datum) und garantiert somit die Echtheit und Unversehrtheit eines im Live-Archiv abgelegten Vorgangs (Zeitstempel).
Entschlüsselung Nur mit der jeweiligen EMA®-Hardware, mit der die archivierten E-Mail- oder Dokumenten-Kopien verschlüsselt wurden, können diese wieder entschlüsselt und lesbar gemacht werden. Ein Zugriff von nicht autorisierten Dritten auf das Archiv ist somit ausgeschlossen.
Print to Archive Das Feature Print to Archive® erlaubt es Anwendern, zusätzlich zum Ausdruck eines Dokuments auf Papier, alle oder ausgewählte Daten während des Druckvorgangs automatisch, komfortabel und sicher digital zu archivieren.
Scan to Archive Das Feature Scan to Archive® ermöglicht die einfache und bequeme Archivierung von herkömmlichen Posteingängen in Papierform in das digitale Live-Archiv.
4-Augen-Prinzip Mit Hilfe des 4-Augen-Prinzips kann das Unternehmen bei der Konfiguration von EMA® festlegen, welche Operationen nicht von einer Person allein ausgeführt werden dürfen.
Authentifizierung EMA® unterstützt alle möglichen Authentifizierungs-Lösungen wie LDAP (Lightweight Directory Access Protocol), OpenLDAP, Kerberos, Active Directory, Radius Server bis hin zu individuellen Einstellungsmöglichkeiten.