Overview of the Most Important Regulations

It All Boils Down to This: Archiving is Necessary

In general, it is important to know that legal regulations, such as the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, require that e-mail messages containing business-relevant information must be securely archived in their original format and retained for a certain period of time.

In practice, this might mean that e-mail messages containing information relevant for taxation or bookkeeping purposes must be kept for up to ten years, and e-mail messages with other business-relevant information must be retained for up to six years in an audit-proof manner.

In addition to the requirements of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, other regulations, such as the German Handelsgesetzbuch (HGB), Grundsätze zur ordnungsmäßigen Führung und Aufbewahrung von Büchern, Aufzeichnungen und Unterlagen in elektronischer Form sowie zum Datenzugriff (kurz "GoBD"), and the Basel II regulations also play an important role and stress the importance of e-mail archiving, no matter where your organization is located.

Article 147

Article 147 of the Abgabenordnung (Revenue Code) states that retainable documents include sent and received trade and business correspondence, as well as other documents that are necessary for taxation purposes.

GoBD Regulations

The GoBD becomes relevant for organizations whenever tax officers need to be able to obtain access to IT systems in order to conduct a company audit. The policies often define that information relevant for taxation purposes must be kept in a format that can be analyzed through automated processes, such as specialized analysis software used by financial authorities.

European General Data Protection Regulation (EU-GDPR)

The new European General Data Protection Regulation (EU-GDPR), partly also known as GDPR, regulates the processing of personal data. The Regulation is relevant for all companies and organisations processing data from EU citizens. In doing so, clearly formulated protection goals regarding confidentiality, integrity and availability of data as well as the resilience of systems and services must be observed. Further information on the European General Data Protection Regulation can be found here.

Basel II Regulations

Banks are required to consider compliance to the regulations set by the Basel II agreement when performing credit ratings of organizations. Special attention is paid to the respective risk management processes, which also include the implementation of e-mail archiving. If organizations show deficits in this area, the results often manifest in lower credit ratings, or, in more extreme cases, outright refusal of issuing loans.

Sarbanes-Oxley Act

The Sarbanes-Oxley Act is part of the federal law of the United States. Not only does it apply to organizations listed on US stock markets and their subsidiaries abroad, but also all companies that such organizations conduct trade with. Above all, it includes rules to ensure the improvement of financial reporting for organizations.

Contact

We would be happy to tell you more.
Do not hesitate to contact us!

EMEA:
ARTEC IT Solutions AG
Phone: +49 (0) 6039 9154 - 0
Fax: +49 (0) 6039 9154 - 54
E-Mail:

APAC:
ARTEC IT Solutions Asia Pacific
Phone: +82-2-515-3349
E-Mail:

USA:
ARTEC IT Solutions USA, LP
Phone: +1-855-GOARTEC
Phone: +1-855-462-7832
Fax: +1-678-666-5153
E-Mail:

Die wichtigsten Regelungen im Überblick

Viele Paragraphen, eine Aussage: Archivierung ist notwendig.

Grundsätzlich wichtig zu wissen: E-Mails mit geschäftlichen Inhalten werden in kaufmännischen Verkehr als Handelsbriefe (laut Gesetz: §257 Handelsgesetzbuch) eingestuft und unterliegen damit exakt den gleichen Aufbewahrungspflichten wie normale Geschäftsbriefe.

Daraus folgt in der Praxis beispielsweise, dass steuerlich und buchhalterisch relevante E-Mails bis zu zehn Jahre lang, Mails mit anderen geschäftlich bedeutsamen Inhalten bis zu sechs Jahre lang geordnet und revisionssicher aufzubewahren sind.

Neben den Bestimmungen des Handelsgesetzbuchs und der Abgabenordnung spielen auch die Grundsätze zur ordnungsmäßigen Führung und Aufbewahrung von Büchern, Aufzeichnungen und Unterlagen in elektronischer Form sowie zum Datenzugriff (kurz "GoBD"), die Basel II-Richtlinien und der Sarbanes-Oxley Act eine wichtige Rolle für die Pflicht zur E-Mail-Archivierung.

Paragraph 147

Paragraph 147 der Abgabenordnung (AO) nennt als aufzubewahrende Unterlagen unter anderem empfangene und versendete Handels- oder Geschäftsbriefe sowie sonstige Unterlagen soweit sie für die Besteuerung von Bedeutung sind.

GoBD Richtlinien

Die GoBD kommt für Unternehmen vor allem dann ins Spiel, wenn Finanzbeamte bei Betriebsprüfungen auf die IT-Systeme zugreifen. In den Grundsätzen wird unter anderem festgelegt, dass steuerlich relevante Daten in einem maschinell auswertbaren Format bereitgestellt werden müssen und durch die spezielle Prüfsoftware der Finanzverwaltung erfasst werden können.

Europäische Datenschutz-Grundverordnung (EU-DSGVO)

Die neue Europäische Datenschutz-Grundverordnung (EU-DSGVO), teilweise auch unter der englischen Bezeichnung GDPR bekannt, regelt die Verarbeitung von personenbezogenen Daten. Die Verordnung ist für alle Unternehmen und Organisationen relevant, die Daten von EU-Bürgern verarbeiten. Dabei müssen klar formulierte Schutzziele rund um Vertraulichkeit, Integrität und Verfügbarkeit der Daten sowie die Belastbarkeit der Systeme und Dienste beachtet werden. Weitere Informationen zu Thema Europäische Datenschutz-Grundverordnung erhalten Sie hier.

Basel II-Richtlinien

Die Vorgaben des Basel II-Abkommens müssen von Banken bei der individuellen Bonitätseinstufung von Unternehmen berücksichtigt werden. Ganz besondere Aufmerksamkeit erhält in diesem Zusammenhang das jeweilige Risikomanagement, zu dem auch die Umsetzung der E-Mail-Archivierungspflicht zählt. Haben Unternehmen hier Defizite, muss mit einer Herabsetzung der Bonität bis hin zur Verweigerung von Krediten gerechnet werden.

Sarbanes-Oxley Act

Der Sarbanes-Oxley Act ist ein US-Bundesgesetz, das neben den an US-Börsen gelisteten Firmen und deren ausländischen Tochtergesellschaften auch alle Unternehmen betrifft, die mit diesen Handel betreiben. Es beinhaltet in erster Linie Regeln zur Verbesserung der Unternehmensberichterstattung.