At a glance

EMA® for SAP Solutions -
Clever Data Management in the SAP Environment with EMA®

Challenge: Data Management in the SAP Environment

A large part of the global economy is handled with solutions from SAP. Based on the applications used, e.g. Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP), logistics, human resources or finance, large quantities of legally relevant documents and data are generated worldwide across industries. All this information not only has to be stored securely in accordance with legal requirements, but also generates a large load on the existing SAP systems. In addition, data acquisition and workflow processing are usually a great challenge in themselves.

To solve these tasks, a DMS solution with connected archiving is traditionally used. However, only a very small part of these broad systems is actually used for archiving in SAP. As a result, the cost and maintenance effort is generally disproportionate to the actual benefit. In addition, generic DMS systems often compete with SAP for the position as primary system.

Clever Solution: EMA® in Conjunction with SAP

The solution for intelligent, legally compliant and affordable data management with little administration effort is EMA®. EMA® is an integrated system that has already implemented all of the requirements for modern SAP information management and archiving. EMA® offers everything in one solution, as it provides an integrated SAP Content Server and supports the SAP-certified ArchiveLink interface for legally compliant data storage.

EMA® in the SAP environment helps you achieve the following:

  • Information lifecycle and data management
    EMA® is a data management system for SAP solutions that can store and process SAP documents, SAP print lists and database reorganization files. It also provides direct live access via full-text search.
  • Metadata synchronization
    Supplement already archived SAP documents with metadata that is queried from SAP via an RFC connection. Metadata includes file names, authors, descriptions, SAP objects, object IDs and document numbers. You can also add any other metadata from SAP business objects.
  • Live migration of existing data
    Migration of existing documents, print lists and database reorganization files stored via SAP ArchiveLink from any SAP ArchiveLink-compliant legacy system to the EMA® SAP Content Server.
  • Data acquisition and document capturing
    Capturing and processing of documents for various SAP scenarios, late and early storing with bar codes, up to fully automatic assignment to SAP business objects or access to workflows.

Additional advantages with EMA®:

Low maintenance and little administrative overhead
Conventional archives based on SAP ArchiveLink are usually installed on conventional server operating systems and therefore generate continuous effort for system or database maintenance. Daily backups require timely coordination with SAP Backup to keep all data in sync with the respective databases and storage pools.

EMA®, on the other hand, as a fully integrated system, offers an elegant solution that reduces administrative overhead and combines all facets of data management and archiving in SAP environments within one solution. EMA® is directly integrated into your SAP base system using standard settings, and ensures a smooth process without the use of additional middleware.

Security and storage management
All data is digitally signed in EMA®, stored in a tamper-resistant manner, and remains unreachable for cyber-attackers at all times. In particular, compliance with legal requirements such as the GoBD or EU GDPR can be implemented with EMA® easily.

With the integrated storage manager, data can also be distributed to several storage systems and locations. The VSTOR® storage series, which is perfectly matched to EMA®, is particularly recommended for this purpose. All other standard storage and WORM systems available on the market are also supported. With ARTEC's own WORM technologies, any conventional storage system can also be converted into WORM storage with ease. The sophisticated security concept used by EMA® protects data reliably against unauthorized access - whether in-house or in the cloud.

From Big Data to Smart Data
In addition to the management of SAP documents, EMA® also offers the possibility of including other data sources and storing them in SAP processes in a structured manner. This includes unstructured data such as emails, files, scanned paper documents, printed documents, and even voice recordings. With EMA®, all of this can be placed in a central system, stored securely, archived in compliance with legal requirements, and used efficiently. This creates a central information pool based on a single solution. In this way, "Big Data" can finally become "Smart Data."

Preservation of evidence and supply of evidence
In the course of legal disputes or for data protection reasons, the preservation of evidence is becoming increasingly important. Up to now, data and information had to be collected laboriously from various sources and solutions - which often represented an almost unsolvable task or was associated with extreme effort. With EMA® as a central data management system, searches across various data sources - also in aggregation with SAP data - can be carried out quickly and efficiently. All data is directly accessible via the federated search engine in EMA® across several locations.

EMA® for SAP solutions at a glance:

Comprehensive information management in SAP environments

Certified integration with SAP NetWeaver

Easy setup and integration

Secure and legally compliant archiving

Low maintenance costs

Online migration of existing old archives during operation

Adding metadata

Support for barcode scenarios for SAP data entry

Effective solution, also for eDiscovery

In-house and in the cloud

EMA® für SAP Solutions -
Cleveres Datenmanagement im SAP-Umfeld mit EMA®

Herausforderung: Datenmanagement im SAP-Umfeld

Ein großer Teil des Wirtschaftslebens wird weltweit mit Lösungen von SAP abgewickelt. Auf Basis der eingesetzten Anwendungen beispielsweise für Enterprise-Resource-Planning (ERP), Logistik, Personal- oder Finanzwesen entstehen branchenübergreifend weltweit große Mengen rechtlich relevanter Dokumente und Daten. All diese Informationen müssen nicht nur entsprechend rechtlicher Vorgaben sicher aufbewahrt werden, sondern erzeugen auch eine große Last auf den bestehenden SAP-Systemen. Zudem stellen meist alleine schon die Erfassung und Workflowverarbeitung eine große Herausforderung dar.

Zur Lösung dieser Aufgabenstellungen wird klassischerweise eine DMS-Lösung mit angeschlossenem Archiv eingesetzt. Allerdings wird meist nur ein sehr geringer Bereich der umfangreichen Systeme tatsächlich für die Archivierung in SAP genutzt. Somit steht der Kosten- und Wartungsaufwand in der Regel in keinem Verhältnis zum tatsächlichen Nutzen. Zusätzlich konkurrieren die eingesetzten umfangreichen DMS-Systeme häufig mit der SAP-Lösung um die Stellung als Primärsystem.

Clevere Lösung: EMA® in Verbindung mit SAP-Daten

Die Lösung für ein intelligentes, rechtssicheres und bezahlbares Datenmanagement mit wenig Administrationsaufwand lautet EMA®. Dabei handelt es sich um ein ganzheitliches System, das bereits sämtliche Anforderungen an eine moderne SAP-Informationsmanagement-  und Archivierungslösung implementiert hat. EMA® bietet alles in einer zentralen Lösung: Vom integrierten SAP Content Server über die Anbindung per SAP-zertifizierter ArchiveLink-Schnittstelle bis hin zur rechtssicheren Datenhaltung.

Das ermöglicht EMA® im SAP-Umfeld:

  • Information Lifecycle- und Data Management
    EMA® ist ein Data Management System für SAP Solutions zur Aufbewahrung und Verarbeitung von SAP-Dokumenten, SAP-Drucklisten und Datenbankreorganisationsdateien sowie zum direkten Live-Zugriff über die EMA®-Volltextsuche.
  • Synchronisierung von Metadaten
    Ergänzung bereits archivierter SAP-Dokumente um Metadaten, die via RFC-Verbindung aus SAP abgefragt werden, u.a. Dateiname, Autor, Beschreibung, SAP-Objekt, Objekt-ID und Belegnummern. Zusätzlich können beliebige weitere Metadaten aus den SAP-Business-Objekten hinzugefügt werden.
  • Live-Migration bestehender Daten
    Migration bestehender, per SAP ArchiveLink abgelegter Dokumente, Drucklisten und Datenbankreorganisationsdateien von jedem SAP ArchiveLink-konformen Altsystem in den EMA® SAP Content Server.
  • Datenerfassung und Dokumenten-Capturing
    Capturing und Verarbeiten von Dokumenten für diverse SAP-Szenarien, spätes und frühes Ablegen mit Barcode, bis hin zur vollautomatischen Zuordnung zu den SAP-Business-Objekten bzw. dem Einstieg in Workflows.

Zusätzliche Vorteile mit EMA®:

Geringe Wartung und Administration
Herkömmliche Archive auf Basis von SAP ArchiveLink werden in der Regel auf Betriebssysteme aufgesetzt und erzeugen kontinuierlichen Aufwand für Maintenance oder Datenbankpflege. Tägliche Backups erfordern eine zeitgenaue Koordination mit dem SAP Backup, um tatsächlich alle Datenbestände mit den jeweiligen Datenbanken und Speicherpools synchron zu halten.

EMA® hingegen bietet als vollintegriertes System eine elegante Lösung für diesen großen Administrationsaufwand und vereint alle Facetten von Datenmanagement und Archivierung in SAP-Umgebungen innerhalb einer Lösung. EMA® wird dabei durch wenige Standardeinstellungen in Ihrem SAP-Basissystem auf direktem Wege eingebunden und sorgt für einen reibungslosen Ablauf ohne den Einsatz zusätzlicher Middleware.

Sicherheit und Speichermanagement
Alle Daten werden in EMA® digital signiert, unveränderbar aufbewahrt und bleiben jederzeit unerreichbar für Cyberattacken. Insbesondere die Erfüllung rechtlicher Anforderungen wie beispielsweise der GoBD oder EU-DSGVO können auf diese Weise mit EMA® umgesetzt werden.

Mit dem integrierten Speichermanager kann der Datenbestand zudem auf mehrere Speichermedien und Standorte verteilt werden. Besonders empfiehlt sich hierzu die perfekt auf EMA® abgestimmte Storage-Serie VSTOR®. Aber auch alle anderen am Markt verfügbaren Speicher- und WORM-Medien werden unterstützt. Mit den ARTEC-eigenen WORM-Techniken kann zudem auch jeder herkömmliche Speicher problemlos in ein WORM-Medium verwandelt werden. Mit dem ausgeklügelten Sicherheitskonzept von EMA® können Daten somit zuverlässig vor unberechtigten Zugriffen geschützt werden – egal ob inhouse oder in der Cloud.

Von Big Data zu Smart Data
EMA® bietet neben dem Management von SAP-Dokumenten auch die Möglichkeit, beliebige andere Datenquellen aus dem Unternehmen einzubeziehen und strukturiert in SAP-Vorgängen abzulegen. Dies umfasst zum Beispiel unstrukturierte Daten wie E-Mails, Fileserver-Dateien, gescannte Papierdokumente, Druckerdateien und sogar Sprachaufzeichnungen. All dies kann mit EMA® in einem zentralen System erfasst, sicher gespeichert, rechtskonform archiviert und effizient genutzt werden. So entsteht ein zentrales Informationsmanagement basierend auf einer einzigen Lösung. Aus "Big Data" kann auf diese Weise endlich "Smart Data" werden.

Beweissicherung und Beweislieferung
Im Zuge rechtlicher Auseinandersetzungen oder aus Datenschutz-Gründen kommt der Beweissicherung in Unternehmen eine immer größere Bedeutung zu. Bisher mussten Daten und Informationen zu diesem Zweck aus unterschiedlichsten Quellen und Lösungen mühsam zusammengesucht werden – was oftmals eine schier unlösbare Aufgabe darstellte oder mit extremem Aufwand verbunden war. Mit dem zentralen Datenmanagementsystem EMA® lassen sich notwendige Recherchen über verschiedenste Datenquellen hinweg – auch in Aggregation mit SAP-Daten – schnell und zielführend durchführen. Alle Daten sind dabei über die globale Suche in EMA® über mehrere Standorte hinweg im direkten Zugriff.

EMA® für SAP-Lösungen auf einen Blick

Umfassendes Informationsmanagement in SAP-Umgebungen

Zertifizierte Integration mit SAP NetWeaver

Einfache Einrichtung und Integration

Sichere und rechtskonforme Archivierung

Geringer Wartungsaufwand

Online Migration bestehender Alt-Archive im laufenden Betrieb

Hinzufügen von Metadaten

Abbildung von Barcodeszenarien zur SAP-Datenerfassung

Effektive Lösung auch für eDiscovery

Inhouse und in der Cloud