EMA® DeDup Server

Avoid Duplicates and Increase Performance

EMA® is highly suitable for email archiving in large and very large enterprise-level infrastructures. If several EMA® appliances are used with Exchange Server, the limitations of Microsoft Exchange Journaling present a challenge: the use of single instancing is not effective and a relatively high proportion of duplicates may occur for technical reasons.

Especially e-mails to larger distribution groups are often archived multiple times, which wastes computing resources and storage space, and can also have a negative impact on performance. The reason for this is the way Exchange Server handles journaling mailboxes: a separate copy of an e-mail is created for each journal mailbox configured for a database group.

EMA® DeDup Server

The smart solution for this problem is called EMA® DeDup Server. Duplicates are filtered out using a central server before the actual archiving process takes place.

Dedicated Appliance

The EMA® DeDup Server is based on a dedicated appliance with an in-memory database and, like EMA® and other solutions built by ARTEC, is based on the proven AOS operating system. Simply integrate it into your network so that it can serve as a central contact and information point for existing EMA® appliances.

The server will coordinate the individual EMA® appliances so that they can know which e-mails have already been archived, which have not been archived yet, and which are currently in the process of being archived. The duplicate detection process is performed directly at the point where envelope journaling reports are being parsed. Unnecessary waiting times are avoided and the overall performance of the individual EMA® appliances used increases significantly without additional expansions.

The Advantages at a Glance

Significant increase in system performance

Avoid duplicate messages

Reduced storage and computing power requirements

Designed to work in conjunction with EMA®

Quick and easy to integrate into the network

True enterprise solution, suitable for all large environments

EMA® DeDup Server

Duplikate vermeiden und die Performance steigern

EMA® eignet sich für die E-Mail-Archivierung insbesondere in großen und sehr großen Infrastrukturen auf Enterprise-Level. Kommen dabei mehrere EMA®-Systeme in Verbindung mit Exchange zum Einsatz, entsteht durch die Konzeption des Microsoft Exchange Journalings eine Herausforderung: der Einsatz von Single Instancing ist nicht wirksam und es kann technisch bedingt zu einem relativ hohen Anteil an Duplikaten kommen.

Dies betrifft beispielsweise E-Mails an größere Verteilerkreise und kann zu Lasten von Ressourcen, Speicherplatz und Performance gehen. Der Hintergrund des Problems: Durch das Verfahren, wie Exchange Journaling-Postfächer behandelt, wird je Postfach eine Kopie der betreffenden Mail erstellt.

EMA® DeDup Server

Die smarte Lösung für diese Problematik heißt EMA® DeDup Server. ARTEC IT Solutions bietet damit die Möglichkeit, mehrfach vorhandene E-Mails an zentraler Stelle bereits vor dem eigentlichen Vorgang der Archivierung auszusortieren.

Dedizierte Appliance

Der EMA® DeDup Server basiert auf einer dedizierten Appliance mit InMemory-Datenbank und arbeitet ebenso wie EMA® und andere ARTEC-Lösungen mit dem bewährten Betriebssystem AOS. Die zentral ins Netzwerk integrierte Lösung dient gewissermaßen als Anlauf- und Auskunftsstelle für die vorhandenen EMA®-Instanzen.

Dabei wird genau koordiniert, welche E-Mail bereits archiviert wurde und welche nicht oder welche gerade bereits auf einer Maschine in Bearbeitung ist. Da die Abfrage direkt nach der Auswertung des sogenannten Envelope-Reports erfolgt, kann der Ressourcenbedarf durch den Einsatz des Duplikateservers signifikant gesenkt werden. Unnötige Wartezeiten sowie Performance-Verluste bei den eingesetzten EMA®-Systemen werden so vermieden.

Vorteile im Überblick

Deutliche Steigerung der System-Performance

Vermeidung von Duplikaten

Geringerer Bedarf an Speicherplatz und Rechenleistung

Optimal auf die Zusammenarbeit mit EMA® abgestimmt

Schnell und einfach ins Netzwerk integrierbar

Echte Enterprise-Lösung, geeignet für alle großen Umgebungen